e-Visa – Information


NOTE: Consulate General of India, Frankfurt does not deal with e-Visa. E-Visa is a centralised process coordinated by Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. For further information, please visit https://indianvisaonline.gov.in E-Visa application is a four-step process involving:

    Application online: - https://indianvisaonline.gov.in, upload photo and data page of   your passport.

    Payment of e-Visa fee online,

    Receive Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) at your email ID and Print ETA and fly to India with Passport and ETA.

For availing e-Visa, obtaining ETA through above procedure is mandatory. Without ETA, the airlines would not allow boarding. E-Visa applicants travelling to India on a passport other than the passport mentioned in ETA, will be allowed entry into India provided that they also carry with them the old passport on which ETA was issued.

E-visa facility is available for following five categories of visa:

  1. e-Tourist visa
  2. e-Business visa
  3. e-Medical visa
  4. e-Medical Attendant Visa, and
  5. e-Conference Visa

The guidelines for availing e-visa are as follows:

e-Tourist Visa: e-Tourist visa can be availed for maximum one year with multiple entry. Continuous stay of a foreigner on e-Visa should not exceed 90 days. The limit for continuous stay in respect of nationals of USA, UK, Canada and Japan is 180 days.

e-Business Visa: e-Business visa can be issued upto one year with multiple entries. The continuous stay on e-Business visa should not exceed 180 days in case of nationals of all countries who are eligible for grant of e-Business Visa. However, if the intention of a foreigner is to stay beyond 180 days on e-Business Visa, the registration with the Foreigners Regional Registration Office (FRRO) will be required.

e-Medical Visa & e-Medical Attendant Visa: e-Medical visa can be granted for 60 days with triple entries. Two e-Medical attendant visas can be granted with one eMedical visa.

e-Conference Visa: e-Conference visa can be granted for 30 days with single entry.

A foreigner (except those applying for e-Conference Visa) will be allowed to club activities permitted under these categories. Foreigners applying for e-Conference visa will be permitted to club the activities permitted under e-Tourist visa only.

e-Tourist visa will be provided at 28 designated international airports. It will also be provided at 5 major Indian ports, Mumbai, Cochin, Goa, Chennai and Mangalore to help tourists coming on cruise ships.

e-Visa applicants are not required to visit the Consulate. Capturing of biometrics for evisa holders will be done on arrival at the immigration check points in India.

Caution: All foreigners are hereby notified that the only official website of Government of India for applying e-Visa is:  https://indianvisaonline.gov.in

There have been a number of instances where many third party websites have been created to offer Indian e-Visa services. Government of India has not authorized any company or entity to facilitate e-visa service. All such websites are fake and are designed to dupe the applicants of their money. They may also misuse the applicant’s personal data.

It may also be noted that e-Visa involves online application for which no facilitation is required by any intermediary/agent etc. For any clarification or doubt about e-visa, applicants may write an email to indiatvoa@gov.in or contact e-Visa helpdesk at : +9111-24300666 (24 X 7).


The Information given here is limited and general in nature and shall not constitute a basis for any claim. Endeavours have been made to keep the information accurate and updated.  Consulate reserves the right to change or withdraw the information at any time without notice. Besides, while Consulate advises the general public to visit the relevant/linked website for more information, it accepts no responsibility or liability for the contents of any other website linked to this website